Posted by: Jacqui Murray | 01/10/2013

10 Hits and Misses for 2012

Top 10 hits and misses for 2012

Top 10 hits and misses for 2012

Since I started this blog forty-two months ago, I’ve had almost 193,000 visitors reading the 580 articles I’ve written on every facet of how to get into USNA, the Navy life, and options if the Naval Academy doesn’t work out.  I also have regular features like Wednesday Hero and USNA Weekly News. It always surprises me what readers find to be the most provocative–as surprising as what holds no interest for anyone but me! It’s usually a post I put heart and soul into, sure I was sharing Very Important Information, and I get three readers who slog their way through it. Talk about humility. Here they are–my top 10 and bottom 10:

Top Ten Hits

  1. Eleven Top Naval Battles–throughout history. The Greeks, Spartans, Americans–that’s a lot of battles.
  2. Who is That Old Walmart Greeter?–a lot of people think this Admiral-turned-Walmart greeter is urban myth. What do you think?
  3. USMC Reading List–Revised–They eliminated some of my favorites and added a lot to educate military personnel on the War on Terror
  4. USNA To Do List–every month, I post a list of what you the high schooler should be doing to prepare for a military academy application
  5. Marcus Lutrell Great Quotes: the Lone Survivor–wise soldier in a down-to-earth way
  6. 9 Secrets for Getting in USNA–Yes, there are ways to improve your chances of acceptance
  7. Here’s What You Should Know About the Blue and Gold Interview–the second-most important interview in the process
  8. Get a Congressional Nomination to a Service Academy–this is part of a series on how to ace this all-important conversation
  9. Checklist: Physical Qualifications for USNA Acceptance–unlike most colleges, a military academy requires candidates be physically fit. Here’s what that means
  10. Tough to Find Info on Naval Cruisers at War–I found this out when I set out to research cruisers for my upcoming military thriller. Here’s my journey

Top Ten Misses

  1. US Marines Die When NATO Won’t Send Air Support
  2. Man in the Arena
  3. Military Quotation Book: Good Resource for Action Writers
  4. The Truth About the War Front
  5. 2011 in review
  6. How to Think (Critical Skill #5 for Future USNA Applicants)
  7. America’s Next Virginia-class Submarine is Christened
  8. Eight Amazing American Warriors–Part Two
  9. A True Story Befitting the Holiday Season
  10. Forged from 9-11, USS New York Sets Sail This Fall

Follow USNA or Bust on Twitter


Jacqui Murray wrote the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a tech columnist for Examiner.comEditorial Review Board member for ISTE’s Journal for Computing Teachers, Cisco guest blogger, and an IMS tech expertCurrently, she’s editing a military thriller for her agent that should be out to publishers this summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office, WordDreams, or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories