Posted by: Jacqui Murray | November 30, 2015

What’s it Like to Parent a USNA Midshipman–Part II

Tblue angels9his is from one of the many USNA Parent sites that support the parents of Midshipmen:

WHO AM I

Dedicated to all who serve our country…

I am one who shall stand beside you as you stand up for me when your country calls.charnigo17

I am beside you in spirit though I am not there!

I am there under your fledgling wings to lift you up and reach the skies,

for I soar amongst the heavens when you say to me, “I need your hand.”

I am one whose heart cries out to tell you, “Thank you for your sacrifices.”

I die each time I cannot be there to ease your burden on those cold dark nights.Countdownclock

I would summon the gift of understanding when all of hell is swirling about and within you.

I wish for you the eyes of the sages that you may guide, into the future,

those needing that glimmer of hope.

I lay awake praying that you are sleeping peacefully.ho chi minh

I count the days, and the hours til  you are presented as a gift back home safe

and whole in my arms.

I wish for you days of challenge, that you may succeed and glorify freedom’s gift to you.

I would give my life for you as you would for me.

I wish life’s feast upon you, that your soul would swell and age with wisdom.

I would guard your every step taken into the darkest corridors of your unknown.ph-10014

I would dream that sunshine is all that guides your way.

And at your journey’s end I would wish you glory and peace!

And I would shed the tears of the world for the lack of you by my side!

Who am I to demand that, for you, life is, and will forever be, gentle and full of dreams?

I am a citizen of our world, another grain of sand upon the beach.broussard05

I am every mother and father of our country’s daughters and sons. I am a patriot unheralded and unsung.

I am your flag so riddled with holes, torn, thread barren, and embattled with scars.

I am an American!

By anonymous


Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is the author of hundreds of tech-in-ed resources, webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, adjunct professor in tech ed, CSG Master Teacher, a columnist for TeachHUB, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, and a monthly contributor to Today’s Author

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

Categories

