Posted by: Jacqui Murray | May 31, 2014

Two Old Men and a Father’s Day Anguish

Future warriors–here’s how it all works out in the end. This is a touching story of two old enemies and how they became friends.

Masako and Spam Musubi

It was Monday, Valentines’ Day 2001.  My wife was five months pregnant at the time we moved into this wonderful neighborhood smothered in US Naval glory.  After I came back from work the next day, she told me a kind old man stopped her as she was wheeling out the trash bin.  She said he hobbled from across the street then kindly wheeled them out for her.

I found out the “old man” was a World War II combat vet.  Worse yet, he was a sailor in the Pacific – he fought the Japanese in World War II.

“Holy crap,” flashed through my mind, “What if he finds out we’re Japanese?”

Twelve years later, I was honored to have been a pallbearer at his funeral.

I was so far off base about my first thoughts on old man Jack that even George Burns could have picked me off without being…

View original post 1,292 more words

Responses

  1. Isn’t this a fantastic story!!

    • I don’t often reblog, but this one–speaks volumes for future warriors. Thanks for introducing me to this gentleman!

      • Koji is a wonderful person and I know it won’t take long before you call him, friend.

      • The eworld is funny like that, innit. I consider carefully before calling online acquaintances ‘friend’, but when I’ve completed my vetting–as in the physical world–some pass muster. Koji sounds like one of thse.


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

Categories

