Posted by: Jacqui Murray | March 19, 2013

Meet a USNA Grad–What Are They Doing?

Occasionally, I’d like to introduce USNA grads who are doing interesting things with their post-Navy lives. Kathleen Toomey Jap certainly qualifies–as a writer, a profession dear to my heart. USNA requires excellent writing skills of candidates and graduates, so it’s no surprise Kathleen’s novel would find a publisher. My dear efriend, Anna Walls, interviewed Kathleen. Here’s her story:

Author Spotlight – Kathleen Toomey Jabbook

I was a reader before I was a writer. I was lucky enough to have parents who were both readers and our house was filled with books. Now that I have my own house, it is still filled with books!

I left for the United States Naval Academy in July 1984 with the intention of becoming an oceanographer or majoring in some type of math/science studies. Once there, I fell in love with my English classes and became an English major. My adviser, Professor Molly Tinsley, encouraged me to sign up for Creative Writing and I enrolled in her class. I loved every exercise, each writing prompt and all the outside reading. I finished three short stories during my time under her tutelage then graduated and headed out to perform my Naval service. I kept my writing dreams alive although I didn’t have much time to write.

Read more…

Follow USNA or Bust on Twitter



Jacqui Murray is the author of the popular  Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy midshipman.  She is webmaster for five blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, an ISTE article reviewer, a weekly contributor to Write Anything and mother of a Naval Officer and an Army grunt. Currently, she’s seeking representation for a military thriller that she just finished. Any ideas? Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

Responses

  1. […] Meet a USNA Grad–What Are They Doing? […]


What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

Categories

